Black Bean Burgers

BlackBeanBurger3

BlackBeanBurger2

I try not to eat ground beef, but every now and then I want a burger. (I am an American after all.) I wanted to try something meatless, but most black bean burger recipes I find are basically tex-mex black bean patties on a bun. Meh. I wanted something that actually tasted similar to a grilled burger but had no meat products in it. After brainstorming and scouring the isles of my local grocery store I finally figured out how to make a delicious tasting meatless burger. Browned mushrooms, liquid smoke,  and a roasted vegetable base are the key. The grilled portobello mushrooms help give a meat-like texture. The Better Than Bouillon Vegetable Base and Colgin Liquid Smoke gives it that smokey rich almost beef-like taste. Try it out you meatless love’n fools!

  • 2 cans of black beans drained and rinsed
  • 8oz portobello mushrooms sliced
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 1/2 cups bread crumbs
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp Better Than Bouillon Vegetable Base
  • 1/2 tsp Colgin Hickory or Mesquite Liquid Smoke
  • buns of choice
  • toppings of choice

Yeilds: Um…a lot.

Clean and slice the mushrooms. Cook mushrooms in a pan on medium high heat with a small amount of olive oil and minced garlic. Salt and pepper to taste. Cook until browned then place in food processor.

Mushrooms

Drain and rinse the black beans. Place in the food processor with breadcrumbs, oats, eggs, vegetable base, and liquid smoke. Pulse until well mixed. The mixture should have a thick meat-like texture.

BlackBeanBurger Mix

Take a scoop of burger mixture and shape into your desired burger sizes. I decided I wanted to do sliders so I went small.

BlackBeanBurger Hand

Cook the patties in a pan on medium high heat with a little bit of olive oil until well browned on each side. About 1 to 2 minutes.

BlackBeanBurger Pan

Now build your burgers with your favorite toppings and enjoy! I used dinner rolls for buns and topped with lettuce, tomato, cheddar cheese, & pickled onions.

BlackBeanBurger1

Leave a comment